welcome country nature
   our villages
   touristic places
   history
   nature
search
   hotels
   holiday homes
   bed-and-breakfasts
   campgrounds
   sports
   tours
   walks
   restaurants
   crafts and arts
   local products
   associations
    estate agency
    Commerces
BIT MEDITERRANEAN SCRUBLANDS AND UNDERGROWTH

When one evokes the name of Corbières, the first image which comes to the spirit, except its renowned wine, is the universe of pebbles which covers this part of the country. Because, it seems that the mineral reign which is imperative itself here in a debauchery of cliffs and cliffs, grits and stones, cliffs and loose stones, pierriers and pebbles, supplanted the vegetable world. It is not of stones that are established(constituted) vertiginous castles perched on rocky fish bones or the magnificent abbeys decorating with flowers our valleys and which make(do) the fame of the " Cathar Country "! And nevertheless, speak about forests in front of these apparently desert areas to the eyes of the pressing traveler do not absolutely recover from the heresy. This Mediterranean forest, in spite of the multiple attacks which it underwent during the last centuries, possesses a surprising biovariety and a wealth faunistique and floristique remarkable through all the met circles (green oak groves or pine forests, scrublands and undergrowth, etc.). Furthermore, she(it) doubtless represents a place of constant delight for the nature lover been in love curiosity. So, you are invited to discover Corbières without moderation, this country of stone, wind and sun …

 

Patric VALETTE, National Office of Forests, January, 2004

BIT MEDITERRANEAN IN CORBIERES

SCRUBLANDS AND UNDERGROWTH

 

BIT MEDITERRANEAN IN CORBIERES ( retour)

 

BIT MEDITERRANEAN IN CORBIERES Some local data … Completely singular entity, Lagrasse is situated in the region of Corbières Orientales, that is a zone limited to the North by the plain of the Aude, in the East by the littoral fringe, in the South by the department of Oriental Pyrenees and on the West by Corbières Occidentales (influences of the Atlantic and mountain climate). Installed(settled) on natural grounds limestone mainly , often superficial, affected and degraded, she should face a very contrasted Mediterranean climate which one can qualify as climate of all the extremes in spite of appearances: been very warm and dry (deficit hydrique pronounced typical of the Mediterranean climate), autumns in the diluvian rains, periodically rigorous winters and passionate winds breaking out on plains and hills. In Corbières, this passionate wind sweeping(annihilating) gaily reliefs, frequent and sometimes very violent, of sector the West in Northwest, is called Cers. All these elements confer on the whole this zone of the limited forested potentialities, in term of production. Some additional data to end: the height varies approximately from 100 to 600 metres and the river of Orbieu, crossing Lagrasse, establishes(constitutes) the chief detail(room) of the river system.

A little of history … 6500 years ago, following upon the last würmienne glaciation (-10.000 years), the holm oak (Mediterranean essence par excellence) and especially the downy oak should occupy the quasi-totality of Corbières Orientales until Roman time, dividing up according to the climatic factors, édaphiques (nature of the ground) and topographic of the place. As for Alep's pine, autochthon of the region according to analyses recent palynologiques (study of fossil pollens), he should remain in islands. Of an economy of prepayment in kind (crop, hunting and peach(fishing)), the man passed gradually in an economy of production (culture, breeding, etc.) and sédentarisa. Hanging some thousand years, this primitive forest paid a heavy levy to the needs of the man, and was strongly ruined in the last centuries:

__ Paissance, even " surpaissance " of the animals on already very poor scrublands (the tooth of the cattle saved(spared) nothing),

__ Use the best plots of land for different cultures (wheat and the other cereal, vineyards, oliveraies),

__ Continual clearing and clearing to warm or feed lime kilns, glass factories(glass-making) and forges, etc. (the coalwomen smoked gaily),

__ Added to this human pressure, the fire ended to annihilate the forest (nowadays, the fire remains the biggest enemy).

Since age-old times, the pastoral economy was imperative itself in Corbières. The continual development of the pasture was always made to the detriment of the forest. The clearings made good progress to increase the surfaces of route(course) of crowds of ovinés as far as the fire, often used, became an effective ally. Dozens thousand animals with wools (sheeps) and some thousand horned animals (goats((tackles)) measured the bare Mediterranean hills. One finds in certain names of village or places, the importance of this livestock: Lanet for the wool, Val de Dagne for the sheep either still Saint-Laurent de la Cabrerisse for goat(tackle). Besides the milk and the meat, the industry of the prosperous wool represented the essential resource of Corbières. as it was not either called the road of the wool, the road between Carcassonne and Lagrasse! Furthermore, the development of the abbeys of Fontfroide ( Cistercian) and Lagrasse ( Benedictine) was only stressing this superiority of the breeding.

In quoted(esteemed) by the breeding, an additional polyculture still decreased the forested surface before the vineyard also comes to reduce to " a shagreen " the forest of Corbières. Finally, at the same time, the exploitation of different ores, the forges, the glass factories(glass-making), the tanneries (harvest of the bark rich in tan to return rotproof leathers), etc. contributed strikingly to the impoverishment of the forested surface of the region.

Nowadays, all these activities having unmistakably disappeared, declined or undergone a decline, the forest resumes quite slowly its rights faithfully for the natural dynamics of the vegetation. It is necessary to remind itself that the French forested surface had reached(affected) a critical threshold of 8 million hectares in the last century while today, it found appreciably its surface of the Middle Age with practically 16 million hectares. It is necessary to say also that if the pastoralisme began to decline since the French revolution, the drift from the land not to say the desertification (less human pressure in campaigns) conjugated to the era of the industrialization and to the use of new energy resources (coal and petroleum notably) also contributed to the " revégétalisation " of our Corbières.

The Mediterranean forest today … The current vegetable coverage consists of big zones of scrublands (" Mediterranean degraded forest ") resulting from anthropological actions (culture, surpâturage, excessive(unfair) exploitations, even fire), of important surfaces of protected copse of holm oak which are regularly run for the local needs (wood of stoking(fire chamber)), of some pubescentes oak groves relics supplying sporadically with some wood of heater and with little productive coniferous populatings altogether.

Pines, essences pioneers, form pine forests or pineraies which contribute to the beauty of the rocky landscapes of the region. On calcareous soil (Corbières has a dominant karstic relief), Alep's pines ( natural colonization) and pines or black pines of Austria stemming from artificial regenerations, adapt their growth to the frugality of these superficial grounds, whereas maritime pines grow exclusively on siliceous grounds. Sweet chestnut trees and oaks corks have the same requirements to broad-leaved trees. Finally, punctual plantations of cedar of the Atlas come to increase this coniferous forested surface and as for the cypress, it(he) deserves nevertheless to be quoted because it(he) counts as an important element of the Mediterranean landscape.

The forest of Corbières Orientales is mainly allocated to the general protection of the environment(middle) (cf. erosion of grounds, landscape, environment) and additionally in the production of coniferous wood of work (however modest) and of leafy firewood. Furthermore, she(it) dresses(takes on) an original role of reception of the public in this tourist region of Languedoc. Nowadays, a single threat presses dangerously on this forest: his(her) vulnerability on the fire, the real Achilles' heel of the Mediterranean region (during summer, 2003, it is 60.000 hectares of forest which burned).

In conclusion, although she(it) has no prestige of the forest of Tronçais or the other forests so famous, the Mediterranean forest of Lagrasse's neighborhood deserves however the titles of nobility which force all our admiration and our biggest respect. If Saint-Exupéry said that the main part is invisible, let us know how to be amazed simply in front of this apparently poor nature but in the unsuspected beauty. Protect her(it) so that the vegetable can pursue the reconquest of the mineral and let us hope that Prométhée's work will not burn this Mediterranean forest during an overheated summer.

SCRUBLANDS AND UNDERGROWTH (retour)

 These two names are confidentially connected to the accents of Noon of France. One can not speak about the Aude without evoking these two circles which sing to the accents of Noon of France. The scrubland is more known because, except the fact that it covers more important territories, she(it) represents the essence of this country with her(its) nice-smelling spaces where from gets free a multitude of subtle flavors scattered by the wind. In Corbières, the scrubland is omnipresent whereas the undergrowth remains more discreet.

 Garigues and undergrowth

The scrubland and the undergrowth are vegetable formings(trainings) which result both of the degradation of the Mediterranean forest, mostly by fire or surpâturage. What differentiates them, besides their aspect and their procession floristique appropriate(clean) (although several sorts are common to the two circles as junipers, filaires, prunellier, nerpruns, broom scorpion and the broom of Spain " Spartium junceum ", etc.) It is the nature of the ground on which settle down these vegetable associations. In the neolithic time, the men(people) took up the forest established(constituted) by holm oaks or downy oaks mainly according to the climatic influences and the conditions of the ground of the station. During the centuries, these grounds were deforested, put in culture or transformed into meadows, sometimes burned. A specific flora became established in these places to form scrublands or undergrowths. This naming in the plural is more appropriate because there is no scrubland or no undergrowth but effectively no scrublands and undergrowths. The various facies are determined by the local climatic conditions, the length of the period of summer aridity (in Mediterranean climate, the irregular precipitation show a deficit in summer), the strong winds (in the Aude, Cers is particularly virulent), the nature and the depth of the ground, the exhibition of grounds, their former(old) destinations (meadows or cultures), the importance of the pasture, the human activities generally and the colonization or not of stratum raised (notably by pines, essences pioneers). Of more a progressive evolution (or regressive further to a fire for example), more or less slow, affect these circles unless they are the object of artificial reafforestations quickly allowing a return to the wooded state.

Scrublands and undergrowths illustrate perfectly this dynamic aspect of the vegetable associations and this constant idea of evolution.

The scrubland

The scrubland is a more or less opened vegetable forming(training), consisted largely of shrubs, shrubs and sub-shrubs, resulting from the regression of the Mediterranean forest, mostly by fire or surpâturage, on generally not acid ground. (Definition according to the vocabulary of typology of the forested stations published(edited) by the Institute for the Forested Development - on 1985)

Scrubland would come from the Celtic word " gar " which wants to say cliff. To explain this scientific definition, let us say simply that this vegetable forming(training) meets essentially on calcareous soil and that it consists of scattered sorts ( opened environment)(middle) or the cliff appears in numerous places.

The most common botanical species, adapted to the dry and dry circles, and to the superficial grounds (poor men in humus), which are are there:

- The main plants aromatic as the thym, the rosemary or the lavender aspic (mellifères famous plants),
- The lifeless ciste in the big pink flowers and in the sheets(leaves) in the aspect duveteux (that one finds as well in the undergrowth),
- The juniper cade (two white lines on every sheet(leaf)) the oil of cade of which one pulled(fired) previously,
- The dorycnium, which makes(does) the delight of bees,
- The ligneous buplèvre, big ombellifère, very mellifère also,
- The oak kermès ( garouille ); it(he) sheltered formerly a cochineal ( the kermès) as which dried and treated eggs (the ponte provoking sorts of galls) served for making a red tint scarlet,
- The aphyllanthe of Montpelier of a blue so pure as the sky of azure, very appreciated by sheeps,
- charming iris dwarfs (yellow, white and blue) and Celse's elegant tulip which(who) make(do) an appearance fast but noticed in spring without forgetting any magnificent orchids,
- Dangerous Redoul (corroyère in sheet(leaf) of myrte) whose toxic black bays(berries) can be confused(merged) with ripe(mature) (poisoning),
- The omnipresent box tree on calcareous soils,
- the pistachier térébinthe which fires the scrubland in autumn ( red foliage),
- And a big number of the other sorts which it is not possible of all to name(appoint) and with whom(which) some were harvested for their medicinal virtues,
- The holm oak, the downy oak and Alep's pine which(who) develop, in the best of the cases, these scrublands towards the climacique caducifoliée forest (cf. oak grove pubescente).

In every season, the scrubland will amaze you: in spring, flowers appear everywhere in a multicolored explosion whereas many bees work continuously to amass honey and pollen; in summer, under a delirious sun, it becomes the domain of insects or resounds a concert orchestrated by the stridulatory cicadas; in autumn and in winter, she knows how to keep(guard) all her plenitude by keeping(preserving) her green finery. It is often after strong rains that she(it) exhales abundantly her(its) fragrant smells. If the flora, by its beauty and its charm, establishes(constitutes) the wealth of the scrubland, she(it) shelters as well a variety of mammals, big and small, a big number of reptiles (who(which) the magnificent ocellé lizard), a multitude of birds and a collection of insects which occupy secretly places.

The undergrowth The undergrowth is a vegetable arbustive generally closed forming(training) (often on base of Ericacées and Cistacées), resulting from the regression, mostly by fire or surpâturage, of the Mediterranean forest on generally acid ground. (Definition according to the vocabulary of typology of the forested stations published(edited) by the Institute for the Forested Development - on 1985).

Contrary to the scrubland, the undergrowth settles down on siliceous grounds mainly and numerous buissonnantes sorts often form an inextricable vegetation ("closed", the " bartas " as one says in Languedoc, expresses this idea of thick and impenetrable bushes, of buissonnantes brambles, real natural wall). The most characteristic botanical species which contain these circles are:


- The ciste with sheet(leaf) of sage and the ciste of Montpelier (foliage which sticks), both in the white flowers,
- The ciste with bay leaf, bigger than both precedents (until 1,50 m of height),
- The lavender " stoechas " in the very aromatic foliage and in the ready purple flowers of bractées mallows (called as well " lavender with quiff "),
- The treelike heath covering the undergrowth of its white flowers (of a height of one in two metres on average, the root of this sort was of use to the manufacture of pipes) and his(her) small sister the heath with broom with which one made brooms,
- The thorny calychotome, the thorny shrub, as its name indicates it, having sheets(leaves) in three sepals and yellow flowers,
- The arbousier which possesses the peculiarity to carry(wear) at the same time flowers ( whitish bells), green fruits and ripe(mature) fruits of a lively red arbouses ) delicious jams of which one makes(does); it is about a shrub which can reach(affect) 5 6 metres high in evergreen leafs and in very ornamental aspect, - and the other sorts in big number,
- Stratum raised which one can meet consists essentially of holm oaks, downy oaks, sweet chestnut trees, oak cork and of maritime pines (these last three essences are enfeoffed in the siliceous grounds).

If these grounds are not convenient to the walk outside paths and roads, the hard wild boars find discounts(deliveries) there being of use to them as pension. As in scrubland, the fauna is also very diversified. Let us indicate all the same that Hermann's tortoise is a particular host of the undergrowth. The fire and the collection of this sort almost removed him(it). In the Aude, its presence is vague and anyway extremely rare. In the massif of the Moors, a plan of protection is begun for this Mediterranean tortoise.

Patric VALETTE, National Office of Forests, January, 2004


Pays Touristique Corbières Minervois
Les idées séjours de Corbières en Minervois
Le conseil général de l'Aude
Bienvenue dans l'Aude Pays Cathare
Sud de France : Languedoc Roussillon
Préparez votre séjour en Languedoc-Roussillon sur sunfrance.com
contact | legal information | website links | website plan
© Office de tourisme de Lagrasse tous droits réservés 2010
   access plan
   contact
   newsletter
   documents
Journée portes ouvertes Musée-Caveau 1900
Journées européennes des Métiers d'Art
   all news
Meteo Lagrasse
ID :

Password :
password forgotten

accueil la région nature
   nos villages
   sites touristiques
   histoire
   nature
recherche
   hôtels
   gîtes - locations
   chambres d'hôtes
   campings
   activités sportives
   visites
   promenades
   restaurants
   artisanat et arts
   producteurs
   associations
    Agences immobilières
    Commerces
LA FORÊT MÉDITERRANÉENNE, GARRIGUES ET MAQUIS

Lorsque l'on évoque le nom des Corbières, la première image qui vienne à l'esprit, hormis son vin réputé, est l'univers de cailloux qui couvre cette contrée. Car, il semble que le règne minéral qui s'impose ici dans une débauche de rochers et de roches, de pierrailles et de caillasses, de rocs et de rocailles, de pierriers et de cailloux, a supplanté le monde végétal. N'est-ce pas de pierres que sont constitués les vertigineux châteaux perchés sur des arêtes rocheuses ou les splendides abbayes fleurissant nos vallées et qui font la notoriété du "Pays Cathare" ! Et pourtant, parler de forêts devant ces étendues apparemment désertiques aux yeux du voyageur pressé ne relève absolument pas de l'hérésie. Cette forêt méditerranéenne, malgré les multiples agressions qu'elle a subies au cours des siècles passés, possède une biodiversité étonnante et une richesse faunistique et floristique remarquables à travers tous les milieux rencontrés (chênaies vertes ou pinèdes, garrigues et maquis, etc.). De plus, elle représente sans aucun doute un lieu d'émerveillement constant pour l'amoureux de la nature épris de curiosité. Aussi, êtes-vous invités à découvrir les Corbières sans modération, ce pays de pierre, de vent et de soleil…

Patrick VALETTE, Office National des Forêts, janvier 2004

LA FORET MEDITERRANEENNE EN CORBIERES

GARRIGUES ET MAQUIS



LA FORET MEDITERRANEENNE EN CORBIERES (retour)

Quelques données locales…
Entité tout à fait singulière, Lagrasse est située dans la région des Corbières Orientales, c'est à dire une zone limitée au Nord par la plaine de l'Aude, à l'Est par la frange littorale, au Sud par le département des Pyrénées Orientales et à l'Ouest par les Corbières Occidentales (influences du climat atlantique et montagnard). Installée sur des sols de nature calcaire principalement, souvent superficiels, érodés et dégradés, elle doit faire face à un climat méditerranéen très contrasté que l'on peut qualifier de climat de tous les extrêmes malgré les apparences : étés très chauds et secs (déficit hydrique prononcé typique du climat méditerranéen), automnes aux pluies diluviennes, hivers périodiquement rigoureux et vents impétueux déferlant sur les plaines et collines. Dans les Corbières, ce vent fougueux balayant allègrement les reliefs, fréquent et parfois très violent, de secteur Ouest à Nord-Ouest, se nomme le Cers. Tous ces éléments confèrent à l'ensemble de cette zone des potentialités forestières limitées, en terme de production. Quelques données complémentaires pour terminer : l'altitude varie de 100 à 600 mètres environ et la rivière de l'Orbieu, traversant Lagrasse, constitue la pièce maîtresse du réseau hydrographique.

Un peu d'histoire…
Il y a 6500 ans, faisant suite à la dernière glaciation würmienne (- 10.000 ans), le chêne vert (essence méditerranéenne par excellence) et surtout le chêne pubescent devaient occuper la quasi-totalité des Corbières Orientales jusqu'à l'époque romaine, se répartissant en fonction des facteurs climatiques, édaphiques (nature du sol) et topographiques du lieu. Quant au pin d'Alep, autochtone de la région d'après les analyses palynologiques récentes (étude des pollens fossiles), il devait subsister en îlots. D'une économie de prédation (cueillette, chasse et pêche), l'homme passa progressivement à une économie de production (culture, élevage, etc.) et se sédentarisa. Pendant quelques milliers d'années, cette forêt primitive paya un lourd tribut aux besoins de l'homme, et se trouva fortement ruinée aux siècles derniers :

__ paissance, voire "surpaissance" des animaux sur des garrigues déjà très pauvres (la dent du bétail n'épargnait rien),

__ utilisation des meilleures parcelles pour des cultures diverses (blé et autres céréales, vignes, oliveraies...),

__ défrichement et déboisement continuels pour se chauffer ou alimenter les fours à chaux, les verreries et les forges, etc. (les charbonnières fumaient allègrement),

__ ajouté à cette pression humaine, le feu terminait d'anéantir la forêt (de nos jours, l'incendie reste le plus grand ennemi).

Depuis des temps immémoriaux, l'économie pastorale s'est imposée dans les Corbières. Le développement continuel du pacage s'est toujours fait au détriment de la forêt. Les défrichements allaient bon train pour augmenter les surfaces de parcours de troupeaux d'ovinés d'autant que le feu, souvent utilisé, devenait un allié efficace. Des dizaines de milliers de bêtes à laines (moutons) et quelques milliers de bêtes à cornes (chèvres) arpentaient les collines méditerranéennes dénudées. On retrouve dans certains noms de village ou de lieux, l'importance de ce cheptel : Lanet pour la laine, Val de Dagne pour le mouton ou bien encore Saint-Laurent de la Cabrerisse pour la chèvre. Outre le lait et la viande, l'industrie de la laine florissante représentait la ressource essentielle des Corbières. N'appelait-on pas non plus le chemin de la laine, la route entre Carcassonne et Lagrasse ! De plus, le développement des abbayes de Fontfroide (cistercienne) et de Lagrasse (bénédictine) ne fit qu'accentuer cette primauté de l'élevage.

A coté de l'élevage, une polyculture complémentaire amoindrissait encore la surface forestière avant que la vigne ne vienne aussi réduire à "une peau de chagrin" la forêt des Corbières. Enfin, parallèlement, l'exploitation de minerais divers, les forges, les verreries, les tanneries (récolte de l'écorce riche en tan pour rendre les cuirs imputrescibles), etc. contribuèrent notablement à l'appauvrissement de la surface forestière de la région.

De nos jours, toutes ces activités ayant disparu, notoirement régressé ou subi un déclin, la forêt reprend tout doucement ses droits fidèlement à la dynamique naturelle de la végétation. Il faut se rappeler que la surface forestière française avait atteint un seuil critique de 8 millions d'hectares au siècle dernier alors qu'aujourd'hui, elle a retrouvé sensiblement sa superficie du Moyen Age avec pratiquement 16 millions d'hectares. Il faut dire également que si le pastoralisme commençait à décliner depuis la révolution française, l'exode rural pour ne pas dire la désertification (moins de pression humaine dans les campagnes) conjuguée à l'ère de l'industrialisation et à l'utilisation de nouvelles ressources énergétiques (charbon et pétrole notamment) ont contribué également à la "revégétalisation" de nos Corbières.

La forêt méditerranéenne aujourd'hui…
La couverture végétale actuelle est composée de grandes zones de garrigues ("forêt méditerranéenne dégradée") résultant des actions anthropiques (culture, surpâturage, exploitations abusives, voire feu), de surfaces importantes de taillis de chêne vert préservés qui sont régulièrement exploités pour les besoins locaux (bois de chauffe), de quelques chênaies pubescentes reliques fournissant sporadiquement du bois de chauffage et de peuplements résineux très peu productifs dans l'ensemble.

Les pins, essences pionnières, forment des pinèdes ou des pineraies qui contribuent à la beauté des paysages rocailleux de la région. Sur sol calcaire (les Corbières ont un relief karstique prédominant), pins d'Alep (colonisation naturelle) et pins pignons ou pins noirs d'Autriche issus de régénérations artificielles, adaptent leur croissance à la frugalité de ces sols superficiels, tandis que les pins maritimes poussent exclusivement sur terrains siliceux. Châtaigniers et chênes lièges ont les mêmes exigences chez les feuillus. Enfin, des plantations ponctuelles de cèdre de l'Atlas viennent augmenter cette surface forestière résineuse et quant au cyprès, il mérite néanmoins d'être cité car il compte comme un élément important du paysage méditerranéen.

La forêt des Corbières Orientales est affectée principalement à la protection générale du milieu (cf. érosion des sols, paysage, environnement) et accessoirement à la production de bois d'œuvre résineux (toutefois modeste) et de bois de chauffage feuillu. De plus, elle revêt un rôle primordial d'accueil du public dans cette région touristique du Languedoc. De nos jours, une seule menace pèse dangereusement sur cette forêt : sa vulnérabilité au feu, véritable talon d'Achille de la région méditerranéenne (durant l'été 2003, ce sont 60.000 hectares de forêt qui ont brûlé…).

En conclusion, bien qu'elle n'ait pas le prestige de la forêt de Tronçais ou d'autres futaies tout aussi renommées, la forêt méditerranéenne des environs de Lagrasse mérite cependant les titres de noblesse qui forcent toute notre admiration et notre plus grand respect. Si Saint-Exupéry disait que l'essentiel est invisible, sachons nous émerveiller tout simplement devant cette nature apparemment pauvre mais à la beauté insoupçonnée. Protégeons-la afin que le végétal puisse poursuivre la reconquête du minéral et espérons que l'œuvre de Prométhée ne réduira pas en cendres cette forêt méditerranéenne lors d'un été surchauffé.



GARRIGUES ET MAQUIS (retour)

Ces deux noms sont intimement liés aux accents du Midi de la France. On ne peut pas parler de l'Aude sans évoquer ces deux milieux qui chantent aux accents du Midi de la France. La garrigue est plus connue car, hormis le fait qu'elle couvre des territoires plus importants, elle représente l'essence même de ce pays avec ses espaces odorants d'où se dégage une multitude de parfums subtils dispersés par le vent. Dans les Corbières, la garrigue est omniprésente tandis que le maquis reste plus discret.

Garigues et maquis, qu'es aquò ?
La garrigue et le maquis sont des formations végétales qui proviennent toutes deux de la dégradation de la forêt méditerranéenne, le plus souvent par incendie ou surpâturage. Ce qui les différencie, outre leur aspect et leur cortège floristique propre (bien que plusieurs espèces soient communes aux deux milieux comme les genévriers, les filaires, le prunellier, les nerpruns, le genêt scorpion et le genêt d'Espagne " Spartium junceum ", etc.), c'est la nature du sol sur laquelle s'installent ces associations végétales. A l'époque néolithique, les hommes ont pris possession de la forêt constituée de chênes verts ou chênes pubescents principalement suivant les influences climatiques et les conditions du sol de la station. Au cours des siècles, ces terrains ont été déboisés, mis en culture ou transformés en pâturages, parfois incendiés. Une flore spécifique s'est implantée en ces lieux pour former des garrigues ou des maquis. Cette dénomination au pluriel est plus appropriée car il n'y a pas une garrigue ou un maquis mais effectivement des garrigues et des maquis. Les différents faciès sont déterminés par les conditions climatiques locales, la longueur de la période de sécheresse estivale (en climat méditerranéen, les précipitations irrégulières accusent un déficit en été), les vents forts (dans l'Aude, le Cers est particulièrement virulent), la nature et la profondeur du sol, l'exposition des terrains, leurs anciennes destinations (pâturages ou cultures), l'importance du pacage, les activités humaines en général et la colonisation ou non de la strate arborée (notamment par des pins, essences pionnières). De plus une évolution progressive (ou régressive suite à un incendie par exemple), plus ou moins lente, affecte ces milieux à moins qu'ils ne soient l'objet de reboisements artificiels permettant rapidement un retour à l'état boisé.

Garrigues et maquis illustrent parfaitement cet aspect dynamique des associations végétales et cette idée constante d'évolution.

La garrigue
La garrigue est une formation végétale plus ou moins ouverte, composée en grande partie d'arbustes, d'arbrisseaux et de sous-arbrisseaux, résultant de la régression de la forêt méditerranéenne, le plus souvent par incendie ou surpâturage, sur sol généralement non acide. (Définition d'après le vocabulaire de typologie des stations forestières édité par l'Institut pour le Développement Forestier - 1985)

Garrigue viendrait du mot celtique "gar" qui veut dire rocher. Pour expliquer cette définition scientifique, disons simplement que cette formation végétale se rencontre essentiellement sur sol calcaire et qu'elle est composée d'espèces clairsemées (milieu ouvert) ou la roche affleure en de nombreux endroits. Les espèces végétales les plus communes, adaptées aux milieux secs et arides, et aux sols superficiels (pauvres en humus), qui s'y trouvent sont :
- les principales plantes aromatiques comme le thym, le romarin ou la lavande aspic (plantes mellifères renommées),
- le ciste cotonneux aux grandes fleurs roses et aux feuilles à l'aspect duveteux (qu'on trouve aussi dans le maquis),
- le genévrier cade (deux raies blanches sur chaque feuille) dont on tirait auparavant l'huile de cade,
- le dorycnium, qui fait le régal des abeilles,
- le buplèvre ligneux, grande ombellifère, très mellifère également,
- le chêne kermès (garouille); il abritait autrefois une cochenille (le kermès) dont les œufs séchés et traités (la ponte provoquant des sortes de galles) servaient à fabriquer une teinte rouge écarlate,
- l'aphyllanthe de Montpellier d'un bleu aussi pur que le ciel d'azur, très prisée par les moutons, - les charmants iris nains (jaunes, blancs et bleus) et l'élégante tulipe de Celse qui font une apparition rapide mais remarquée au printemps sans oublier quelques orchidées magnifiques,
- le dangereux Redoul (corroyère à feuille de myrte) dont les baies noires toxiques peuvent être confondues avec des mûres (empoisonnement),
- le buis omniprésent sur les sols calcaires,
-le pistachier térébinthe qui enflamme la garrigue à l'automne (feuillage rouge),
- et un grand nombre d'autres espèces qu'il n'est pas possible de toutes nommer et dont certaines ont été récoltées pour leurs vertus médicinales,
- le chêne vert, le chêne pubescent et le pin d'Alep qui font évoluer, dans les meilleurs des cas, ces garrigues vers la forêt climacique caducifoliée (cf. chênaie pubescente).

A chaque saison, la garrigue vous émerveillera : au printemps, des fleurs surgissent de toutes parts dans une explosion multicolore tandis que maintes abeilles œuvrent sans répit pour amasser miel et pollen ; en été, sous un soleil délirant, elle devient le domaine des insectes ou résonne un concert orchestré par les cigales stridulantes ; en automne et en hiver, elle sait garder toute sa plénitude en conservant sa parure verte. C'est souvent après de fortes pluies qu'elle exhale abondamment ses odeurs parfumées. Si la flore, par sa beauté et son charme, constitue la richesse de la garrigue, elle abrite aussi une variété de mammifères, grands et petits, un grand nombre de reptiles (dont le superbe lézard ocellé), une multitude d'oiseaux et une collection d'insectes qui occupent secrètement les lieux.

Le maquis
Le maquis est une formation végétale arbustive généralement fermée (souvent à base d'Ericacées et de Cistacées), résultant de la régression, le plus souvent par incendie ou surpâturage, de la forêt méditerranéenne sur sol généralement acide. (Définition d'après le vocabulaire de typologie des stations forestières édité par l'Institut pour le Développement Forestier - 1985).

A l'opposé de la garrigue, le maquis s'installe sur des terrains siliceux principalement et de nombreuses espèces buissonnantes forment souvent une végétation inextricable ("fermée", le "bartas" comme on dit en Languedoc, exprime bien cette idée de broussailles épaisses et impénétrables, de ronces buissonnantes, véritable rempart naturel).

Les espèces végétales les plus caractéristiques que renferment ces milieux sont :
- le ciste à feuille de sauge et le ciste de Montpellier (feuillage qui colle), tous deux aux fleurs blanches,
- le ciste à feuille de laurier, plus grand que les deux précédents (jusqu'à 1,50 m de hauteur),
- la lavande "stoechas" au feuillage très aromatique et aux fleurs violettes parées de bractées mauves (appelée aussi " lavande à toupet "),
- la bruyère arborescente couvrant le maquis de ses fleurs blanches (d'une hauteur de un à deux mètres en moyenne, la racine de cette espèce servait à la fabrication des pipes) et sa petite sœur la bruyère à balai avec laquelle on confectionnait des… balais,
- le calychotome épineux, arbrisseau épineux, comme son nom l'indique, ayant des feuilles à trois folioles et des fleurs jaunes,
- l'arbousier qui possède la particularité de porter en même temps des fleurs (clochettes blanchâtres), des fruits verts et des fruits mûrs d'un rouge vif (arbouses) dont on fait des confitures succulentes ; il s'agit d'un arbuste qui peut atteindre 5 à 6 mètres de haut aux feuilles persistantes et à l'aspect très décoratif, - et d'autres espèces en grand nombre,
- la strate arborée que l'on peut rencontrer se compose essentiellement de chênes verts, de chênes pubescents, de châtaigniers, de chêne liège et de pins maritimes (ces trois dernières essences sont inféodées aux terrains siliceux).

Si ces terrains ne sont guère propices à la promenade hors des sentiers et chemins, les rudes sangliers y trouvent des remises leur servant de retraite. Comme en garrigue, la faune est aussi très diversifiée. Signalons tout de même que la tortue de Hermann est un hôte particulier du maquis. Le feu et le ramassage de cette espèce l'ont fait quasiment disparaître. Dans l'Aude, sa présence est incertaine et de toute manière rarissime. Dans le massif des Maures, un plan de sauvegarde est entrepris pour cette tortue méditerranéenne.

Patrick VALETTE, Office National des Forêts, janvier 2004

Pays Touristique Corbières Minervois
Les idées séjours de Corbières en Minervois
Le conseil général de l'Aude
Bienvenue dans l'Aude Pays Cathare
Sud de France : Languedoc Roussillon
Préparez votre séjour en Languedoc-Roussillon sur sunfrance.com
contact | informations légales | sites favoris | plan du site
© Office de tourisme de Lagrasse tous droits réservés 2010
   plan d'accès
   contact
   newsletter
   documents
Rencontre littéraire Maison du Banquet Lagrasse
Marché aux Truffes Talairan
   les actualités
Meteo Lagrasse
Identifiant :

Mot de passe :
mot de passe oublié